So how did it all start? Let me first share to you my background…

As you may know with my professional background, I was trained as an engineer. I don’t work in constructions sites. I started a career in a large consulting firm in which I spend most of my time of the day SITTING. Fast forward today, I still work in an office, although at times it’s in my home office. But as you see, nothing much has changed. I still sit for long hours. My lifestyle is just like that of the majority out there, it’s sedentary. If it’s also you, I’m giving you a glimpse of hope.

Now here’s the catch. On some days, I go to the gym to lift weights; typically, thrice a week. I did this since 2009. At the beginning, I also used to do some cardio until some time in 2011 when I completely dropped cardio in favour of solely strength training. But as you see, I’m neither big nor bulky. So I also like to refute the idea that lifting weights will automatically make you big and bulky, especially for women. I’ll discuss this in detail later in the series.

In the middle of 2012, I was introduced to the health and wellness industry, totally unrelated to my professional background. But since then, I somehow become an enthusiast in the industry. I get to broker information and sell some supplements along the way. Working in the industry, I somehow walked away from the doctor’s office and started not to believe most of them.  To my mind, the medical industry is primarily the study of DISEASE.

Now, you might get curious as to why. Why strive to get fit? Why choose the H&W industry? Why not simply focus only in engineering? While there is this notion that H&W industry is the TREND and the next BIG thing, I have my personal reasons. The reason in fairly simple; it’s called FAMILY HISTORY.

The fact is, I think I’m not lucky enough to be blessed with very wonderful genes. Now, don’t be surprised. My grandfather died at age 44, long before I was born. The cause of death is a heart disease. I don’t know much of the details since I’m not around yet. The story gets worse when my dad died at age 43, five years ago, and a year shorter of my grandfather’s age. Now you may guess the cause. Yes you’re right, it’s also heart disease.

MedalThis photo was taken sometime October 2009, almost 3 months before he died.

I may not be able to get a trace longer that two generations since you see, their lifespan is quite short. It’s sad. But to look at the bright side, I somehow knew where I stand. Good news is from the study of Harvard School of Public Health on obesity: “Genes Are Not Destiny” (http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/obesity-prevention-source/obesity-causes/genes-and-obesity/). I’m not that familiar with the correlation between obesity and heart disease but I know somehow they are related. This gives me an idea that I need to make DRAMATIC changes in my lifestyle.

It should be clear to you by now why there is seemingly a passion behind my words and why I chose to get involved in the H&W industry. On the other hand, you might be skeptically saying: “Why bother?! I don’t want to worry about my conditions. I am perfectly fine and don’t feel anything bad. Besides, we are all going to DIE anyway. I’d rather drink and be merry.” If that’s your point, maybe you don’t need to read further. I sincerely thank you for your time. But for me, I’d like to take my chances rather than do nothing at all. I suggest let’s deny ourselves the dignity to fight for what we believe in.

I completely agree that death is the common destination we all share. There’s nothing we can do about it. But as I see it, the idea of death is exactly what makes life more wonderful. As what Aerosmith says: “Life’s a journey, not a destination. And you just can’t tell, what does tomorrow bring” That is simply the nature of life. After all this makes the process more important than the goal.

I say this to you to find your reason(s) why you need to change. Because I tell you now, it’s not easy. In fact, I advise you not to read further if these are all unclear to you yet.

Let me hear from you!

